October 15th Pregnancy Loss and Infant Loss Remembrance Day

13 Sep

For those of you who don’t know my family and I sufferred a great loss about 2 months ago, we lost a baby at about 13 weeks gestation. This loss came as a complete shock to us and we were devastated.  With much love and support we have gotten to a place where we are dealing with the loss and leading as much of our past normal lives as we can.  We still think of what could have been and what should have been each day but we thank God each day for our family and the lives we lead.

That said, I wanted this post to be a “shout out” of sorts for October 15th which is the national Pregnancy Loss and Infant Loss Remembrance Day.  When I was going through some of the roughest times I looked to the internet to find information about organizations, associations etc where I could channel my efforts, feelings and look for support, but there was nothing out there.  Pregnancy and Infant loss is not highly supported even though it affects 1 in 6 pregnancies.  I did come across a few great sites with message boards where I was able to talk with other women in my situation that “understood” like no one else did.

I befriended a great woman named Patty who like me had 2 healthy children and to her surprise and horror lost her third child near the end of her first trimester.  I stated in an e-mail to Patty “Hopefully one day we won’t talk about our loss and simply be friends who happened to meet by a series of unfortunate events” and it seems that we are at that point, which makes me so happy.  Don’t get me wrong, I have my good days and my bad days but at this point my good days out  number the bad and I find real strength in that thought.  Just the strength for me to post this, knowing that it would be made live to 100s of people makes me feel good to know that I am in a place where I can handle people knowing.

Back to Remembrance, I registered for an event here in Lafayette to support other mothers and families suffering the same loss that I have.  The event, The Forget me Not Walk to Remember is the 1st annual and will be held in   Youngsville, LA October 9, 2010.  Its the only event of its kind in our area and its the first year.  I want to get the word out about this event because pregnancy and infant loss awareness is not promoted like other groups and it should be.  I challenge you to participate in this walk to support the families that have suffered a great loss as my family has.  You can register easily through the website and if your not into walking I am sure that you can volunteer.  Do it for you, do it for someone that you know that has gone through this tragedy or do it for Penelope Pearl who was taken from us way too soon.

Join me on October 9th in Sugarmill Pond for the walk, if not light a candle in remembrance on October 15th.

-Drama mama out

Leave a Reply

