Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

7 Jul

So I have been reading a lot and about a week ago I began reading “Shiver” by Maggie Stiefvater.  It is a story of a girl that falls in love with a werewolf.  Sounds cheesy but this book has to be one of the best written books I have read in a long time.

Stiefvater switches points of view every few chapters back and forth from Grace to Sam who is the werewolf/human.  It is really nice to see each characters point of view and how they truly see each other.  Unlike many teen romance books I think the relationship between Grace and Sam is the most realistic relationship I have seen in fiction in quite a while.  It is refreshing to see an author truly portray what first love feels like and allows grown married women (like myself) to feel the same way I did when I first fell in love by simply reading her words.

I enjoy Teen books becuase I look at reading as entertainment and I want it to be fun and easy.  The author has such a great style of writing that allows the reader to be sucked in very quickly.  I caught myself staying up late to finish the book.  I haven’t felt this way about a book since the Twilight Series and I am very excited to find another book series that I can truly become a part of.

If you haven’t read it check it out.  I think this series will get really big eventually.  We will see.There are already a lot of fansites out there dedicated to this series even though the second book is not due out until later this month.  But definitely check out shiverguy.com this is the same guy who did twilightguy.com which is a cool video blog of a guy’s perspective of reading “girly books.”

-Drama mama out :0

2 Responses to “Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater”

  1. tonya 07/07/2010 at 9:44 pm #

    Just downloaded it, can’t wait to start it!

    • mlj23741 07/07/2010 at 9:46 pm #

      I think you are going to like it. It really sucked me in. I finished it tonight 🙂

Leave a Reply

